Get ready, set..craft!

Vintage Deli Cafe | February 17, 2011

I hadn’t thought of posting this earlier but since I’m resuming blogging, why don’t I also give my review of the cafes and eateries that I patronize. So here goes my first cafe/food review.

Last Friday night,I finally got a chance to meet one of my bestfriends (yes,I have more than one bf..we are like a sisterhood of traveling jinxers) in Bugis (what makes you think there was shopping involved?!).

But yarrr,we did shop for my beautiful dress from Future State. Ain informed me there was a quaint cafe with all things vintage along Bussorah Street, which she didn’t recall the name.

I was, of course,excited (what else?) and looked all around until our eyes spotted (really!) a pretty cafe opposite of Amirah’s Grill. From outside,we could see checkered upholstery, floral English teacups and shabby chic decor.

We were greeted by a very friendly face,whom I later found out was one of the owners’ son. As I looked around,the rest of the patrons were happily settled and chatted at ease as if the small cafe were their regular hangout. I won’t be surprised if it was true.

I perused the menu. Delighted to find they have both light and heavy meals. And get this,weight watchers: there are even healthy meals available.

Ain and I decided to go for the combo A,which consists of a homemade mushroom soup, a salad, a pot of honeydew tea and a tiramisu. All these for $14.90.

Since we were sharing,we also got ourselves a super platter,which were modified to suit our weight watching interest. Hahaha!!!

Boy,were we wowed by the service he provided us with. Our soup came piping hot and really delicious (he said it’s non-Campbell). The salad was big for the two of us. The tea was divine.

The super platter consisted of breaded fish,potato wedges,calamari rings and mushroom. Oily food but tasted good!!

Our desert came last and it wasn’t disappointing at all! The espresso filled bottom third of the ice cream glass with a layer of sponge cake in between it and ice cream. Bitter sweet hot and cold. had one of the most memorable dinner since. Was glad we chose to look for this cafe instead of settling for the norm around Arab Street area.

We’ll be coming back!

Posted in Cafe
Tags: , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Vintage Deli Cafe.. an awesome cafe to chill.. food taste very homecookd.. and very well presented… I wanna go there again and try the western main course..and the tiramisu mudpie is simply heaven!!

    Comment by Ain Friday — February 18, 2011 @ 10:55 AM


Leave a Reply

    about myself

    monthly issues

    February 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  

    blogging matters

    visitors statistics

    • 4,482 hits

    looking for..

