Get ready, set..craft!

Reverie of My Balcony | March 29, 2011

Guess what? I’ve more or less  made up my mind on the little (and BIG) things for the balcony. My balcony! Am stoked now as I plan.

Firstly, I would actually love to have coloured tiles for the balcony, as opposed to the ivory tiles most HDB flats come with. I’ve found a picture that illustrate the kind of tiles I’m talking about – orange, preferably marbled or cracked.

Tiles for balcony

The picture above illustrates a mini outdoorsy pond and garden. Although cute, this balcony looks quite average. I don’t fancy the pond and medium-to-large potted plants because they look too…perfect?

Don’t get me wrong now. I like pretty homes, perfect balconies included. But I would not know what to do if my living area is spotlessly perfect. It’ll be weird, no? There will be no flaws growing accustomed to. And there will also be no future home “improvements” needed. It will be a Barbie world, then.

So believe it or not, I am actually keen to plant herbs – parsley, coriander, rosemary (thanks Jamie Oliver!) –  in tins such as the picture below, with the exact watering can and rack, so that the focus would be on the plants and less on the environment they are in. (I like the muted stones.)

Herbs in tin cans

Don’t worry, I’ll do something about the walls at least. Get me some bricks!

Brick walls

Ta-daa! Brick walls! Now, come to think of it, I like my walls orange with plain planks for the floors instead of the strong orange tiles I  showed earlier. Bah! And note, it will really go well with my tinned herbs in wooden racks! Throw a bench and/or mirror from Ikea and a couple of my favourite things, and I will get…

Shabby chic balcony

That’s right. The sweet reminder of the  our wedding; wood, candles and flowers in tinned buckets.

Posted in Home

2 Comments »

  1. I love these balcony shots! I think potted gardens like you’ve shown are so cheery. Looks like you’ve got some fun ahead of you, good luck!

    I found your blog today while searching wordpress for “home”, by the way.. I’d love to see an update when you figure out what to do with your balcony!

    Comment by suzannebrandsen — March 29, 2011 @ 10:48 PM

    • Hi Suzanne! Thanks for dropping by! U’ve got a nice website urself. Are u into gardening? Might read ur posts more to pick up some tips.

      Anw,we’ve just gotten our keys to our flat (today!). Will show pictures before & after renovation/decor. 

      Comment by lala of pearls and roses — March 30, 2011 @ 10:00 AM


Leave a Reply

    about myself

    monthly issues

    March 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

    blogging matters

    visitors statistics

    • 4,462 hits

    looking for..

