Get ready, set..craft!

Bake: Blossom Soda Bread | September 22, 2011

Hello again everyone! I don’t know how many will still read my blog,and I haven’t been blogging for months! A quick update, I’ve left my engineering company for a while now, felt freed from stress, then enjoyed the festive Eid season and am now a full time tutor.

And guess what still? All these while,my home is still incomplete – well, the kitchen lastly.

Any hoot, I would like to share a simple recipe which I had taken on yesterday. Let’s give it to the Blossom Soda Bread, yo!!!

Ingredients
1 cup plain flour
1 cup self-raising flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 egg (small)
125 ml orange juice (Peel Fresh’s good)
125 ml fruit yoghurt (I used berry yoghurt)
A pinch (make it two) of salt

1. Preheat the oven at 200 deg C (I’m using conventional setting).

2. In a big bowl, sieve the flour, sugar, salt, bicarbonate of soda and baking powder. (Flour mixture)

20110922-013525.jpg

3. In another bowl (medium), whisk the egg (manually or with a hand mixer) before adding both orange juice and yoghurt. Mix this formula well. (Liquid mixture)

20110922-013607.jpg

20110922-013547.jpg

4. Add the liquid mixture into the larger bowl containing the flour mixture. Mix this formula with a hand mixer until it becomes a dough.

20110922-013617.jpg

5. Prepare a baking tray and sprinkle some flour (any) on it. Take the dough out and place it in the pan. Knead the dough a for a few minutes and flatten it at last.

6. Take a knife and cut the dough in a crisscross manner, making sure that the cuts end half-way down the dough. Let it stand for 15 minutes.

20110922-013644.jpg

7. Bake for at least 45 minutes.

20110922-013658.jpg

20110922-013713.jpg

Now u can serve the bread hot with jams and cream! I had mine for lunch, although it would be more suitable for tea time. Do tell me how it goes for you!

Posted in Home
Tags: , ,

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    about myself

    blogging matters

    visitors statistics

    • 4,482 hits

    looking for..

