Get ready, set..craft!

Bake: Caramel Cupcakes and Fairycakes | May 10, 2012

I am not working today and have been up since dawn. Yawn! But after watching Megan and Liz’s Valentine Cupcake video, I was inspired to make some myself. Of course, unlike them, I started from scratch. Nuh uh.. No Betty Crocker for me, no matter how many people swear by her!

I browsed through AllRecipe app (it’s God-sent!) and settled for this vanilla cupcake recipe (which I altered to make mine caramel).

20120510-164719.jpg

Ingredients (Copied from AllRecipe):

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 pinch salt
5 tablespoons butter, cut into pieces
2/3 cup milk
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 egg yolk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

I followed this recipe closely except twisted 3 items from the ingredient list; I used brown sugar instead of white (hence, granulated) sugar, evaporated milk instead of milk and cracked 3 eggs as opposed to using 2 eggs and a yolk. I did as follows:

1. Preheat an oven to 180 deg C. Set aside about 50 small cupcake casings and 6 large ones.

2. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl; set aside.

3. Heat the butter and milk in a small saucepan over low heat until the butter has melted.

4. Beat the brown sugar, eggs and vanilla in a large bowl until it thickens slightly and becomes dark in colour.

5. Gradually beat in the flour mixture. Slowly pour in the hot milk, beating until just combined.

6. Divide batter evenly between cupcake casings. Bake until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean, about 15 minutes for the small cakes and 20 minutes for the large ones.

7. Cool them on the cooling rack and they are ready to be eaten.

Alternatively, you can frost the fairycakes and cupcakes like I did. I made use of Cake Mate icing tubes to decorate the cakes. I prefer this make for its buttery flavour to Wilton’s grainy icings. Two tubes are needed eventually. And they are really, really sweet!

20120510-170744.jpg

20120510-170802.jpg

Tell me how it goes for you!

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    about myself

    monthly issues

    May 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

    blogging matters

    visitors statistics

    • 4,472 hits

    looking for..

