Get ready, set..craft!

1st Ramadan in Our Home | July 22, 2012

Yesterday in Singapore, it was the first day of the Muslims’ fasting month, Ramadan. I was delighted that the first day fell on a Saturday. It was my husband and mine’s first day to perform fasting in our own house. It was such a big deal for myself, yet not so much for the husband. I begged him to let us eat at home (not outside, not at my MIL’s even). I had created a menu for this month so that I won’t panic and would know what to cook (I’m a planner…I don’t embrace uncertainties well). :/

As planned, I had cooked a sweet treat called agar-agar gudir (palm sugar and coconut jelly) and butter chicken, thinking that we could get some garlic & cheese naans (Indian bread) outside. The latter didn’t happen because we were in a rush to get my MIL a ceiling fan. So when we got back, the only bread that was available was the square sandwich bread. Since I still have a garlic sesame paste, I used this to spread on a few bread squares and popped them into the oven for a few minutes. I thought everything was going well until breaking fast came and my teeth got stuck in the bread. Uh huh… You guess it! The bread was too-unbelievably-hard. Husband looked at me and I him. So he suggested to soak them in the butter chicken gravy. Hahaha! We had some biryani rice, which we bought, while waiting for the bread to soak up.

So, the bottom line is…no matter how much one plans on doing things, sometimes by the law of averages (and God’s will), things won’t go quite as expected. Like how I’ve set the alarm at 5am for this whole month, yet only to be woken up 20 minutes later today by my husband because the alarm didn’t ring (I did not select the days for it to continue ringing). There was no time to cook – panic mode – but thankfully, we had some leftovers given by my MIL yesteray which I had time to re-heat before sahur (pre-dawn breakfast before a fast begins) was over.

Today, I don’t think I’ll be cooking a main meal as we’re thinking I crashing my MIL’s iftar (gathering to break the fast). I might, however, make some dessert again. I’ll let you know later. πŸ˜€

20120722-125111.jpg
Our breaking of fast meal at home

We had a little surprise later last night. My husband’s cousin’s wife, Beatrix, baked us this lovely Red Velvet Cake with a Madagascar theme, bless her! It was the most delicious without anything overpowering. πŸ™‚

20120722-125436.jpg

Posted in Home, Random
Tags: ,

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    about myself

    monthly issues

    July 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

    blogging matters

    visitors statistics

    • 4,462 hits

    looking for..

